MBS / Platte Media Victims' Forum
February 08, 2012, 09:16:01 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: IMPORTANT: When signing up for an account on this forum, it is highly recommended that you hide your email address. This can be done by ticking the "Hide email address" box to the right of the box where you type your email address. If you're already signed up and are concerned, log in, go to "Profile" then "Account Related Settings", then ensure that the "Hide email address from public" box is ticked.

 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: platte media installation  (Read 2720 times)
jonlewi5
Administrator
Gold Member
*****

Karma: 9
Offline Offline

Posts: 176


« on: March 28, 2008, 01:57:38 am »

Okey, here we go again, lets get the info flowing on this new shit,
so here we go with the screenshots, here is the entire process from download to finishing the installation.
as noted in another thread, there was a sub domain on the Platte site ( download.platte.com) jsut so happens that this is the domain that the
installer is downloaded from, so here we go :

so here is the page for downoading the software first off, note the T&C at the bottom of the page.


http://img413.imageshack.us/img413/5751/screenshot1ej9.png

Okey, after clicking on download now, i get this little pop-up appear, looks like MBS/platte are attempting to make no mistakes this time.


http://img176.imageshack.us/img176/7438/screenshot2ts5.png

Here is the info window for the download from firefox, as you can see there, the address where the download is coming from (download.plattemedia.com)


http://img503.imageshack.us/img503/7421/89083025fp4.png


Right, now before the installer will start, i *DID* need to click it myself, ie, it doesnt auto-run. So here is the first page of the installer#


http://img505.imageshack.us/img505/9110/screenshot4np1.png

Here is the installer asking for a "pin" dont actually know why, but meh, dont really care


http://img338.imageshack.us/img338/7968/screenshot5if2.png

Right this is how my system looked after the install, the webpage in the background opened automaticly,


http://img402.imageshack.us/img402/5372/screenshot6rj8.png

IV added the links aswell as the images may not co,e out well due to the resizing

okey, thats it for the moment, what iv still got left to do is, run a network monitor to see whats being accessed as as the malware is being installed
and also run a monitor to see which files are modifed/made/deleted.

« Last Edit: March 28, 2008, 02:01:21 am by jonlewi5 » Logged


Andy M
Silver Member
***

Karma: 4
Offline Offline

Posts: 74



WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2008, 08:12:51 am »

Interesting stuff, Jon.

Now, this is for their "Get Movies Now" site. I wonder if the process is the same for their porn site? (that link goes to another forum post, not to the actual site)

I'm not suggesting you have to test this out, but it does seem as if Platte have a number of different services.

Being cynical, it seems it's easier to shame people out of their cash for a porn site than it is for a general film site.
Logged
jonlewi5
Administrator
Gold Member
*****

Karma: 9
Offline Offline

Posts: 176


« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2008, 08:22:30 am »

well i can certainly take a look, i agree it is easier to get money out of people if its for something that they dont want many people to know about (a porn subscription)
Logged


mjerry
Bronze Member
**

Karma: 1
Offline Offline

Posts: 17


« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2008, 01:40:39 am »


 hi jon
 
i am a new victim of platte. i am very interested in the staff you shown. as when i checked getfilmnow the site which platte alleged that i joined it was grey screen and only a single screen although Andy had received a letter form platte solicitors stating that it is six screen and each screen inform you that this is a pay site after free 3 days trial ?! i definitely don't recall this and it is definitely an experience which can not be forgotten easily.
 also i noticed their is a warning on the screen that this adult site, which is not the case when i checked the getfilmnow screen. did they changed the screen or they run more than one site which may or may not be connected together ?!
thanks please let me know of any new changes.
best of luck
 mjerry   
 
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.8 | SMF © 2006-2008, Simple Machines LLC Sponsored by PMK admission-psychoanalysts Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!